Business Development

Afreximbank’s Fourth Annual Babacar Ndiaye Lecture

H.E. Professor Kishore Mahbubani,

The African Export-Import Bank (Afreximbank) will be hosting its fourth annual Babacar Ndiaye Lecture on Tuesday 20 October 2020 from 2:30 pm – 4:00 pm (Cairo time), under the theme ‘Africa and the Remaking of the New World Order’.

The keynote address will be delivered by H.E. Professor Kishore Mahbubani, a world-renowned geopolitical thinker and founding Dean of the Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy at the National University of Singapore.

The Lecture will provide the platform to reflect on options and policies to take advantage of emerging opportunities associated with geopolitical realignment and emerging new world order. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, this year’s Lecture will be a ‘Virtual Event’ online and viewers around the world can participate by clicking on the following link:

Prof. Benedict Oramah, President and Chairman of the Board of Directors of Afreximbank, said:

“Africa has shown resilience to Covid-19 and countries must build on it and the African Continental Free Trade Agreement (AfCFTA) to compete for opportunities emerging from Covid-19 and the new world order in the making.” Through this fourth annual lecture series we are proud to transcend the challenges posed by Covid-19 to continue honouring President Ndiaye for his exceptional contribution to Africa and the world.”

Last year Afreximbank hosted its third annual Babacar Ndiaye Lecture under the theme ‘Trading Under Emerging Global Security Realities: Implications for a Successful AfCFTA’ as a side event to the IMF meetings in Washington, D.C.  General William E. ‘Kip’ Ward, the inaugural commander of the United States Africa Command (AFRICOM), delivered the 2019 lecture. 

The annual BabacarNdiaye Lecture series was established by Afreximbank in 2017 to honour the memory and excellent contribution of Dr. Ndiaye to the contribution of African development. Dr. Babacar Ndiaye was the President of the African Development Bank from 1985 to 1995.

About the author

Byron Adonis Mutingwende